Business Class: To Make Ends Meet

cooltext915273259

 

As I was discussing the economic situation with Sonia, she brought up the fact that lots of people were having a difficult time reaching the end of the month on current family income. She is very passionate about figurative expressions so she used the term “to make ends meet”. 

Here is what she said: ” I feel bad for my friends. Many of them have their spouses at home because they’ve been laid off. Their family income has dropped. Bills are coming in. Kids have lots of demands. They are having serious trouble making ends meet! I wish I could help them!”

To make (both) ends meet means to have just enough money to pay for the things that you need . It refers to earning and spending  equal amounts of money.  it denotes a difficult living with little if any money after basic expenses.

Here are a few examples:

  • I left my parents home this year. I’ve had to learn how to make ends meet with my new monthly budget!
  • I am a receptionist but I moonlight as a waiter to make ends meet.

Fluency Builder:

  • Can you describe the national economy in your country?
  • What are characteristics of people who are struggling to make ends meet?
  • What kind of job would you pick up if you had to make ends meet?

Lem..xo!

 

 

Leave a Reply

