Phraseology: Happy St-Patrick’s Day!

learn english1

Happy St-Patrick’s Day everyone…or should I say it in Gaelic: Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh [pronounciation: Law Ale-yeh Pawd-rig Sunna Deev!] I hope I got it right!

We celebrate the patron saint of Ireland on March 17th. It represents a celebration of Irish music, language, art and culture. It is a feast that has extended beyond the Irish borders. When I was a child, I remember the St-Paddy’s Day parade in Montreal & I had a St-Paddy’s Pub Party in Milan only last year where I drank my fair share of Guinness.

Here are some key pub crawling expressions that will come in handy today:

  • A pint of Guinness, please! (i.e. request for an irish beer…dark ale)
  • Cheers! (i.e. word to express good wishes)
  • Health & Wealth! (i.e. words to express good wishes)
  • Beer up! (i.e. Come one! Drink your beer!)
  • It’s all Hunky Dory! (i.e. it’s all good! My irish friends use this expression often)
  • Can we start a tab? (i.e. to open credit at the bar and pay for drinks at the end of the night)
  • I am a teetotaler. (i.e.I abstain from drinking alcohol)
  • It’s on me! (i.e. I will pay for your drink.)
  • I got this round. (I.e. I will pay for the drinks we’ve just ordered)
  • Last orders! (i.e. bartender announces last chance to buy an alcoholic beverage. US: last call)

If you drink too much on St-Paddy’s Day, here is what you can say the next day:

  • I got drunk.
  • I got wasted.
  • I got sloshed.
  • I got plastered.
  • I got hammered.
  • I am hungover.
  • I have a hangover.

In honour of St-Patrick’s Day, here are some green idioms:

  • My new diamond ring made my friend green with envy.( i.e. appearing jealous or envious)
  • John and Mark are good neighbours. A hedge between keeps friendship green. (i.e. maintain a good friendship by respecting each other’s privacy)
  • Are you sure you are ok? You look green around the gills. (i.e. to look sick)
  • My boss gave me the green light to kick off the project.(i.e. give permission to do something)
  • The new hire seems pretty green (i.e. inexperienced) to me.

English: Guinness for strenght

Fluency Builder: Discuss the following questions with your teacher or a friend.

  1. Have you ever celebrated St-Patrick’s Day?
  2. Tell the story of when you got totally wasted.

LEM..xo!

p.s. Anna & Roisin…thinking of you today!

p.p.s. a little Andy humour for advanced learners

Leave a Reply

