In These Shoes by Kirsty McColl

This tune is a cross between a jazzy female voice and  a ‘Buenavista Social Club” beat. Having a drink with friends is grand!  Top language to learn is ‘No way, José!” which is refusing  phraseology  that means ‘Absolutely not!’ . I chose this song because it’s quite easy to sing along  to & you can practice a little Spanish as well. Enjoy!

Lyrics

I once met a man with a sense of adventure
He was dressed to thrill wherever he went
He said “Let’s make love on a mountain top
Under the stars on a big hard rock”
I said “In these shoes?
I don’t think so”
I said “Honey, let’s do it here.

“So I’m sitting at a bar in Guadalajara
In walks a guy with a faraway look in his eyes
He said “I’ve got as powerful horse outside
Climb on the back, I’ll take you for a ride
I know a little place, we can get there for the break of day.
I said “In these shoes?
No way, Jose
I said “Honey, let’s stay right here.”

No le gusta caminar. No puede montar a caballo
(She doesn’t like to walk, she can’t ride a horse)
Como se puede bailar? Es un escandolo
(But the way she dances, it’s a scandal)

Then I met an Englishman
“Oh” he said
“Won’t you walk up and down my spine,
It makes me feel strangely alive.”
I said “In these shoes?
I doubt you’d survive.”
I said “Honey, let’s do it.
Let’s stay right here.”

No le gusta caminar. No puede montar a caballo
Como se puede bailar? Es un escandolo

 

English: Stiletto heels

English: Stiletto heels (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Vocabulary Boost:

  • Dressed to thrill:: dressed to excite
  • A  faraway look: daydreaming of something else
  • The break of day: dawn, sunrise
  • No way, Jose!: rhyming expression that means absolutely not.
  • My spine: Back bone that supports the body and serves as the channel for nerve passage

Fluency Builder: Learn with your friends by answering these questions in English together.

  1. What do the lyrics mean ? 
  2. Can you describe the video?
  3. Do you like high-heels?
  4. Have you ever been to Mexico on vacation?
  5. Have you ever been horseback or motorbike riding? What’s it like?

Lem…xo!

p.s. Dedicated to GC and the drive back from  the BPW dinner

 

 

Leave a Reply

