Top Language: Beach Slang 3

Beach Volley Pro Series

Beach Volley Pro Series (Photo credit: Alberto Ferrante)

I was thinking that sports and fitness are an important part of summer.

Here are a few phrasal verbs that  could help you.

 

I have been going to the gym since Easter. I wanted to bulk up for the summer time.

  • to gain weight and muscle mass

Maria wanted to learn how to body surf but gave up after 1 hour.

  • to surrender or quit

After my evening run on the beach, I cool down by doing some stretching activities.

  • to do movements after your main exercises to return your heart rate to normal gradually

I was watching a beach volley match when they suddenly asked me to join in. 

  • to take part in a sporting activity or match

I took up yoga this summer. There was an instructor that gave classes on the beach.

  • to start doing a new sport or activity

Summer Quote

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.  ~John Lubbock

LEM…xo!

Leave a Reply

