Back to Work Blues?

I am still on vacation but my mind keeps wandering to visions of Monday , my desk, my pc, my agenda and Outlook.

Dont get me wrong, I love my job and wouldn’t trade it for the world but getting back to work is always a little traumatic.

If I start up cold turkey, I will probably have tachycardia all day so I am setting my action plan for next week.

I will share it with you just in case you are in the same predicament.

Aesop  said ‘In union, there is strength’ so here it is.

1.  Sift through your email before going back to work. Keep the good. Chuck the bad and the ugly!

2.  Set the ‘ Back to Work Coffee Break’ appointment with your co-workers and get the storytelling out of your system. You risk wasting more time if you keep it in or repeat the story 6 times over.

3.  First Day equals Strategy Day. Don’t think you will get back into the swing of things and close one million issues on your first day. Use it wisely by planning your week, answering urgent emails and calls & readjusting to your working environment.

4.  You deserve a day off before you start. Try to get back home from your vacation with one day to spare. This will allow you to put everything away, get your laundry started, plan your menus for the week and get a good night’s rest before going back to work.

The above tips are not ground breaking but they do help you ease back into your routine.

Do you have any other suggestions that might help?

I hope you have a great first day back to work!

Lem..xo!

Leave a Reply

